12/23/22
my friend and I walked a neighbors dog today! she's so cute and sweet ^^
kinda bored now, but oh well..

Doll's Blog

Date: 12/16/2022

Mood: sad and sentimental
for literally no reason???

wildfires

I went to a screening of an indie documentary with some friends and the director was there to talk about her experience making the film and answer questions and stuff. While the overall feeling of the film was rather bleak and hopeless, the interviewer referred to the aesthetically pleasing shots that were sprinkled throughout, asking about the reason for their inclusion in the film. The distant, intimidating glow of a forest up in flames; the way the dark smoke curled and twisted up into the sky, like growing storm clouds. Why go out of the way to depict beauty when the topic is such a terrible occurrence?

I'm embarrassed to say I don't remember what her answer was, I was too busy silently answering the question myself: I think life is just beautiful like that. I don't mean that in a sappy, sweet way. I mean it literally, existence is so visually gorgeous at all times, terrifyingly so. The way a supercell seems to pause and hover, turning the world an eerie purple; the way blood pools on asphalt, weaving through the cracks, splintering off like tree branches; the way tear drops glitter as they caress grief-stricken faces.

What I'm trying to say is that I think it'd be really hard to depict something like a wildfire in a way that's not extremely beautiful. It might be uncomfortable or upsetting to see, but it will always be a stunning sight. (I wrote most of this while crying on an airplane, very cathartic experience, 10/10 recommended)

©repth